Posted by: traveltalkwithtommy | February 24, 2012

Mom’s Last Trip

My mother arrived in Texas a little over a week ago I guess. My sister packed her ashes up and sent them to me so she could sit on my entertainment center with my brother Joey and watch television. I know that sound strange, but it’s what she wanted to do.

My brother Joey died several years ago. He was only 52 years old. I am the youngest of five. My oldest brother is 19 years older than me. Some people say I was a opps baby because my mom and dad were so old when I was born, but my dad think so. He always said he planned it that way so he could stay young while others got old.

Anyway, my mom lived with my family and I for three years. Everyday she would pass my brother Joey and say, “Good morning, Joe.” One day she told me, “When they burn me, (her words, not mine) I want you to put next to Joey so we can always watch television. You can put a picture of me up there too so everyone will know that its me.”

I told mom I would love that, and now there she sits. Every once in a while I watch reruns of Everybody Loves Raymond because that was her favorite show. I know she isn’t really there, but at the same time, I know she is there. Now I walk by every morning and say, “Good morning Mom, good morning Joe.”

Death,

isn’t such a scary place,

In heaven, so far away,

Because the ones I love

are waiting there,

For me to arrive one day.

 

Responses

  1. I’m very sorry for your loss


Leave a Reply

Categories

